Park Fries, No Cares


I don’t know how it happened, but somehow Justin is already the cooler parent. I can’t say I’m surprised. He used to tell me all the time while I was pregnant how he would definitely be the cooler parent. I’m all “Sunscreen! Hats! Organic Quinoa!” and he’s over here giving Hazel Happy Meals, chocolate milk, and YouTube. So the other day we took Hazel to the park to practice her honking skills with some geese and their babies, I decided to take a day off from caring about everything and got Hazel and I some McDonalds french fries and we ate them with some geese who were behaving suspiciously as though we were the only people in the world to ever respect the “Please Don’t Feed The Geese” signs.  (Seriously, sign or no sign you would have to be a goose to think you were getting one of the few fries I could grab as they fell from Hazel’s double fist approach to french fry consumption.)

It was so nice, and I don’t mean just the fries ( but for real McDonald’s fries over every other fry) but just to take a day off from caring so much about everything. A lot of the time, no matter what I’m doing I have an idea in my head of how I think that thing should go and I get myself all worked up and anxious when things don’t go the way I imagined. Hazel is the best at living in the moment so I am trying to learn from her; you can just enjoy the taste of french fries even if you are sitting dangerously close to goose poop.

Leave a Reply

