World’s Greatest Spinach Salad

spinach recipe pinterest image-01IMG_0019IMG_0025IMG_0028IMG_0040

spinach salad recipe image-01

I have to share with you the most amazing spinach salad. I should start by saying that I am not easily excited by salads BUT this one is so good! Justin and I have been eating it non stop since I figured out the recipe for it. It’s great also because you can pre-make the toppings ahead of time.

When we were at the market in London I had this salad as a side dish at lunch and Justin and I were both finishing it off before anything else which never happens. So I started trying to find it online but couldn’t…but I am not a quitter so I decided to just try and make it up from memory and it ended up being super simple and I landed on a winner!

Recipe

( This makes five lunch size portions)

Slice 5 Spanish Onions

Dice 12 Cloves of Garlic ( or more depending on your love of garlic)

1 Large Container of Baby Spinach

Toss the onions and garlic with 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil and 1 tsp each of salt and pepper

Spread everything out  evenly on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes at 350 until it is all soft and your entire house smells delicious.

Once it’s done, scoop everything into five equal portions – the garlic infuses into the oil and acts as the dressing once you re-heat when you’re ready to eat. If you’re going to eat it right away just go ahead and mix the onions, garlic and oil with your fresh baby spinach. I also like to add a tablespoon of hummus and a hard boiled egg to this for a little extra something. For lunch I mix one portion of the onion and garlic mixture heated up with 2 1/2 cups of spinach – delish!

It doesn’t look like much on paper but give it a try – trust me!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. What’s a Spanish onion? Gonna give this a go! Seems like a butt load of garlic?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. byjessej says:

      Spanish onions are the yellow ones – it’s a lot but it works out to just a couple cloves in each salad. I would actually add more but I hate peeling it.

      Like

    2. byjessej says:

      P.S I miss you already!

      Like

Leave a Reply

